Extra Cents v Bridlington : Saturday, 13 April 2024

In their final league game of the season, Gareth Culpan’s band of loyal social players gathered to entertain Bridlington’s 2nd team.

During the season, the Driffield 4th XV has used almost 100 different players, many playing just one or two games and draughted in at the eleventh hour by skipper Gareth.

On this occasion, the team had a squad of 30 players to draw on, many making themselves available to be in the final scheduled game of the season.  This was fortunate for Bridlington, who turned up short in numbers, and started with skipper Gareth donning the Bridlington shirt, while Driffield had almost a fuill team standing on the touchline waiting for an opportunity.

On a bright and sunny afternoon with a good crowd as this was the only game at the club, an entertaining game of rugby took place.  Although Driffield ran out easy winners, Bridlington never gave up and were able to travel home knowing that they had scored the first try, and the last.

Ball-handling sometimes let both sides down, and Driffield gave away too many penalties for holding on to the ball in the tackle.  But the endeavour never stopped, with both teams keen to run the ball, or kick for territory when that was the better option.

Played with good nature, both teams kept changing with an endless supply of rolling substitutes – Driffield always had plenty of fresh legs to bring on. 

As Bridlington’s men picked up injuries, Driffield players swapped shirts and brought them back up to 15, an excellent show of sportmanship.

Tries came from : 

  • Callum Battans x2
  • Matthew Driskell
  • Elliott Rudge
  • Steve Smith
  • Dan Brookman

Conversions from :

  • Matthew Driskell x3
  • Sam Stephenson x2


  1. Chris Woodward
  2. Ben Botterill
  3. James Garbutt
  4. Lee Woodall
  5. Steve Smith
  6. Henry Rodmell
  7. Callum Battams
  8. Sean Kirby
  9. Joe Andrew
  10. Matthew Driskell
  11. Tony Collis
  12. Dan Brookman
  13. Elliot Rrudge
  14. James Clarke
  15. Thom Russell
  16. Jonny Nelson
  17. Josh Fry
  18. Nathan ‘Yogi’ Cartwright
  19. Sam Budge
  20. Charlie Hogg
  21. Fred Parsonage
  22. Reece Barber
  23. Nathan Hood
  24. Gavin Kemp
  25. Sam Stephenson
  26. Alasdair McClarron
  27. Gavin Fry
  28. Garry Botterill
  29. Jacob Farr
  30. Gareth Culpan (captain)