This Saturday we once again welcome Malton & Norton rugby club to Kelleythorpe for our Yorkshire Cup Quarter Final.

After last week’s excellent league encounter, Malton will be looking to turn that result around. Last week Driffield won 25 – 22. Driffield looked home and dry with 15 minutes left, until Malton hit back with two tries to leave the tie open to both teams. Driffield managed to keep their noses in front and bring home the 5 points.

This week we meet in the Yorkshire Cup quarter final. Following Yorkshire RFU decision to ban clubs who fail to put a team out in the previous years competition there is a lack of teams, and so here we are in the quarters without playing a match.

We had drawn Huddersfield in the 2nd round : that game was supposed to be played on the 14th October. However, Huddersfield had a league game too, so had planned to play a 2nd XV against us. They couldn’t manage to do that and conceded the tie.

Malton hosted Ionians in the last round. Like Huddersfield, Ionians had a league match, although unlike Huddersfield they sent a 2nd team. Malton won easily.

If you look at the teams left in the draw, both sides will fancy their chance in the competition. The winner of this tie will face either Harrogate or West Leeds, Harrogate having home advantage. Hull have already made the semis, after Bridlington have conceded this weekend’s tie. The final tie sees Ilkley host Doncaster Phoenix.

A few changes in Driffield XV from last week: we welcome back one of our previous Australian friends in Jake Douglas – it will be great to see him back out in Driffield colours. In the backs, Dearing, Dench and Lawrence are rested, replaced with Watts, Dinsdale and Murray.  In the pack Zavatti, Cooper, Mewburn and Burns are rested, replaced with Waterhouse, Douglas, Dinsdale and Cullen.

Driffield XV v. Malton & Norton 18/11/17 YC KO 2.15

1 Waterhouse, 2 Brumfield, 3 Blenkinsop

4 Borman, 5 Douglas

6 Dinsdale, 7 Cullen, 8 Mewburn, G

9 Gray, 10 Murray

12 Piercy, 13 Furbank

11 Dinsdale, 14 Robinson, 15 Watts


Dervey, Cooper, Syson, Walgate, Soanes, McClarron.