BREAKING NEWS 10:30 – the games at Kelleythorpe are cancelled as the pitches are frozen

Fingers crossed we get to welcome players, officials and supporters from Cleckheaton RUFC to Kelleythorpe, with the ground already hard from the frosts this week, the game must be in bit of doubt, pitch inspection around 10am i have been advised.

Cleckheaton are having another good season.  They sit one place behind us in the league on 46 points (we have 48), they have W9, D1, L5.  Like us, they have lost against Billingham and Alnwick, won at Heath back in October, and gave us a second defeat in our first meeting at Cleckheaton back in October.  The game was a tight affair, finishing 25-24 to Cleckheaton.  Driffield had a 21 – 12 lead at one point, with Cleckheaton kicking a penalty in the last five minutes to take the points.  A game Driffield should have won really.

Driffield again look to bounce back after a tough loss losing to league leaders Billingham 20-14 last time out.  However, we played a very good game last weekend and, although we lost, we gave a very strong side a very stern test.  With Heath and Alnwick both losing, we could have closed the gap to them.  However, it was Cleckheaton that benefitted, as 2nd, 3rd and 4th in league all lost.  Billingham now have an 18 point lead at the top, Heath have 2 in hand, Alnwick, Driffield and Cleckheaton all have 1 in hand.

A couple of knocks picked up last weekend, and a few returning from injury means another changed squad, but, again, the squad depth is deep enough to cover with confidence.

2nd XV also host Cleckheaton 2nds, while 3rd and 4th XVs head to Malton, to play their 2nds and 3rds.  Only 3rd VX game going ahead.

This weekend the 1st XV welcome Cleckheaton RUFC – see the match programme here

  1. Bryce McKinnon
  2. Simon Pettinger*
  3. Josh Thundercliffe
  4. Kyle Turner*
  5. Sam Gleeson
  6. Jack Sowersby*
  7. Rob Mewburn* (c)
  8. Matthew Jenkinson*
  9. James Watts*
  10. Ryan Murray*
  11. Robbie Rix
  12. John Soanes*
  13. Ben Blacker*
  14. James Short*
  15. Ben Dinsdale*
  16. Dan Ramsden
  17. Henry Harrison*
  18. Ron Murray*